Milestones

1950s: During the Cold War, China shut her door to the outside world. Many western foundations supported the effort to develop an academic service center in Hong Kong to study contemporary China.

1962: A year before the Centre was established, a large number of refugees had been allowed to escape across the border into Hong Kong, and thereafter a trickle of émigrés and travelers from the mainland continued to flow to Hong Kong.

1963: William Marvel, president of Education and World Affairs, who contributed great effort in finding a proper location for a Chinese study centre in Hong Kong, contacted Jerome Cohen, a legal scholar at University of California, who was spending the year in Kowloon. Within months, Cohen had arranged for the Universities Service Centre to rent a large independent residence at 155 Argyle Street and began interviewing refugees.

The Centre's first Director Jerome Cohen and his family

1964: The Universities Service Centre officially opened to scholars of various disciplines around the world. Overwhelmingly, young scholars and graduate students formed the core of the Centre.

1966: The USC began to develop its own collection, as the Union Research Institute, the best collection of materials on mainland China in Hong Kong at the time, could no longer keep its collections up to date. The Union Research Institute had previously agreed to make its clipping files and books available to the USC.

1970: Within six years of the centre’s opening, more than 250 scholars had used the Centre.

1971: China opened to foreign delegations. This marked a new era of USC. The first group of American scholars to go to China in 1971, consisted entirely of young researchers from the USC and their spouses, and their first reports when they returned were to fellow USC scholars.

1974-1988: John Dolfin had taken the position as the centre’s Director. He intensively acquired complete sets of an enormous range of Chinese local and provincial newspapers. By the late 1980s the Centre had an excellent library collection, with a vast set of local and regional PRC newspapers from the early 1950s onward, unrivaled in any other library.

1980s: Following China’s open-door policy, foundations like Mellon, Carnegie, Luce and Ford were beginning to withdraw their financial support to USC. The Centre established an International Advisory Committee to discuss the possibility of handing over the Centre to a local university to maintain its collections and services.

1988: The Chinese University of Hong Kong became the new home of USC. The Centre closed its old office at 155 Argyle Street and gradually moved all its books to the Chinese University. The new director, H. C. Kuan, helped ensuring the new direction, and Jean Hung as assistant director was dedicated to the Centre’s administration, collection improvement and scholarly community building.

The Centre's current office at 8/9F Tin Ka Ping Building, CUHK

1990s: More and more scholars from the PRC began visiting the Centre, for they found that the collection was more comprehensive, better organized, and easier to use than those accessible on the mainland.

1995: The USC acquired sustainable funding to provide financial support to scholars from mainland China for their research at USC.

2005: The new mission of USC was to nurture the new generation of scholars in the field of Chinese studies. With the financial support of the Asia-pacific Centre for Chinese Studies, USC organized the Graduate Seminar on China (GSOC) starting in 2005.

2021: The USC collection has benn integrated into the CUHK Library collection while exchange and academic activities continue under the auspices of the Institute of Chinese Studies (ICS).


.

Group photo of participants of the first Graduate Seminar On China

The above contents are largely based on the following articles:

Ezra F. Vogel, The First Forty Years of the Universities Service Centre for China Studies, The China Journal, No. 53, Celebrating the Universities Service Centre for China Studies (Jan., 2005), pp. 1-7.

Ezra F. Vogel, Milestones in the History of the Universities Service Centre for China Studies, The China Journal, no. 75, Celebrating the Fiftieth Anniversary of the Universities Service Centre for China Studies Special Issue (Jan., 2016), pp. 1-8.

Jean Hung,“中国研究的麦加”是怎样建成的, published on FT Chinese on 9 February 2015.

http://www.ftchinese.com/story/001060301


Incomplete list of the Centre’s users

-Overseas Scholars:

Jerome Cohen, Richard Solomon, Mike Oksenberg, David Lampton, William Parish, Martin K. Whyte, Richard Madsen, Deborah Davis, Charlotte Ikels, Suzanne Pepper, Stanley Rosen, Susan Shirk, Andrew Walder, Jean Oi, Jonathan Unger, Anita Chan, Richard Madsen, Lynn White Ezra F. Vogel, Victor Falkenheim, Kenneth Lieberthal, Stanley Lubman, Lucien Bianco, Roderick MacFarquhar, Frank Dikotte, Nina Borevskaya


-Chinese Scholars:

秦晖, 杨继绳, 曹树基, 金钟, 戴晴, 张小军 , 朱劲, 崔启源 , 马丽莊, 林耀华, 吴家宝, 宋永毅, 曹锦清, 辛秋水. 萧唐镖. 许江霖 . 刘晓峰. 陈意新 , 康晓光, 金观涛, 萧功秦 , 张隆溪 , 朱维铮 , 陈方正 , 雷竞璇, 丁旺, 沈志华, 关信基, 金观涛 , 刘青峰, 王绍光 , 何清涟


-Diplomates:

Richard Solomon: staff member advising Henry Kissinger

Mike Oksenberg: strategist at the White House under President Jimmy Carter for normalizing relations between the United States and China

David Lampton: president of the US-China Friendship Association for a decade

Bernard Frolic: Canadian Ambassador in Beijing

David Wilson: Hong Kong’s governor who played a key role in negotiating the Joint Declaration between Britain and China over the future of Hong Kong


Contents are based on materials and photos still available at the Centre.

發展歷程

1950s: 冷戰期間,中國對外關閉國門。許多西方基金會積極尋求在香港簡歷學術研究中心以求了解當代中國。

1962: 在中心建立的前一年,一大批難民被允許跨過邊境進入香港,之後許多內地的流亡者逃到香港避難。

1963: William Marvel, 教育及世界事務理事會主席聯繫了Jerome Cohen, 一位正打算在九龍做研究的美國加州大學的法學教授,請他幫忙建立一個學術服務中心. 幾個月後, Cohen 租下了亞偕老街155號的一座獨棟別院,建立了大學服務中心,並開始訪問難民。

中心第一任主任Jerome Cohen(孔杰榮)教授的全家福

1964: 大學服務中心正式向全世界各個學科的學者開放。來中心訪問的絕大多數是博士在讀生和年輕學者。

1966: 當時在香港擁有最豐富中國研究館藏的聯合研究院(Union Research Institute)一直同意將自己的剪報及書籍有償借給中心,但自1966年起URI的資料不再更新,因此中心必須開始發展自己的館藏。

1970: 成立六年內,超過二百五十位學者曾到訪中心。

1971: 中國開始接納外國訪問團,開啟了中心的新篇章。美國1971年第一個組織訪問團訪問中國,成員全部由中心的年輕學者及其家屬組成,他們回來第一時間做的報告也是面向中心的同僚。

1974-1988: John Dolfin 做主任期間,收集了大量的中國省級或地方報紙。至八十年代末,中心杰出的館藏,尤其是自五十年代的老報紙,在全世界獨一無二。

1980s: 中國改革開放政策出台之後,梅隆、卡耐基、盧斯以及福特西方基金會相繼撤銷對中心的資金支持。中心不得不成立國際顧問委員會,討論將中心移交香港本地大學的可能性,以求維持中心的館藏和服務。

1988: 香港中文大學正式成為中心的新家。亞偕老街155號的舊辦公室被關閉,全部書籍被陸續運送到中大。新主任關信基教授主持中心新的發展方向,熊景明女士擔當中心的助理主任,負責管理中心的日常事務,拓展館藏以及維繫中心的學術網絡。

中心香港中文大學田家炳樓八、九樓現址

1990s: 內地學者開始到訪中心。中心館藏與內地同類圖書館相比要更為豐富,管理更為完善,使用更為方便,中心漸漸在內地學者中樹立了口碑。

1995: 中心第一次得到穩定的資金用于支持內地學者訪學計劃。

2005至今: 中心一直以來的歷史使命之一是培養新一代中國研究學者。自2005年,中心與亞太漢學中心合辦 “當代中國”研討班(GSOC)。

第一屆“當代中國”研討班合影

內容整理自以下文章:

Ezra F. Vogel, The First Forty Years of the Universities Service Centre for China Studies, The China Journal, No. 53, Celebrating the Universities Service Centre for China Studies (Jan., 2005), pp. 1-7.

Ezra F. Vogel, Milestones in the History of the Universities Service Centre for China Studies, The China Journal, no. 75, Celebrating the Fiftieth Anniversary of the Universities Service Centre for China Studies Special Issue (Jan., 2016), pp. 1-8.

熊景明,“中國研究的麥加”是怎樣建成的, 2015年2月9日發表在FT 中文網.

http://www.ftchinese.com/story/001060301


中心學者不完全統計名單

(排名不分先後)


-海外學者:

Jerome Cohen, Richard Solomon, Mike Oksenberg, David Lampton, William Parish, Martin K. Whyte, Richard Madsen, Deborah Davis, Charlotte Ikels, Suzanne Pepper, Stanley Rosen, Susan Shirk, Andrew Walder, Jean Oi, Jonathan Unger, Anita Chan, Richard Madsen, Lynn White Ezra F. Vogel, Victor Falkenheim, Kenneth Lieberthal, Stanley Lubman, Lucien Bianco,, Roderick MacFarquhar, Frank Dikotte, Nina Borevskaya


-華人學者:

秦暉, 楊繼繩, 曹樹基, 金鐘, 戴晴, 張小軍 , 朱勁, 崔啟源 , 馬麗莊, 林耀華, 吳家寶, 宋永毅, 曹錦清, 辛秋水. 蕭唐鏢. 許江霖 . 劉曉峰. 陳意新 , 康曉光, 金觀濤, 蕭功秦 , 張隆溪 , 朱維錚 , 陳方正 , 雷競璇, 丁旺, 沈志華, 關信基, 金觀濤 , 劉青峰, 王紹光 , 何清漣


-外交官:

Richard Solomon: 亨利·基辛格 (Henry Kissinger)顧問

Mike Oksenberg: 吉米·卡特總統白宮參謀,對中美關係正常化起到關鍵作用

David Lampton, 美中友好協會主席

Bernard Frolic, 加拿大駐中國北京大使

David Wilson, 香港總督,在起草關乎香港未來的中英聯合聲明中起到關鍵作用



內容整理自中心現存歷史資料及相片。疏漏之處,還望包涵。